The 5 Stages of Grief: Brian Urlacher

urlachergrief

As Chicago fans everywhere prepare themselves for the next evolution of Bears football, one without Brian Urlacher in the middle of the defense, they’ll no doubt experience a lot of mixed feelings.  Here are quotes from #54 about his shocking, but not unsurprising, departure.

Stage 1:  Denial

“I had 10 messages in 20 seconds. Then I was like, ‘Holy crap.’ It was crazy.”

Stage 2: Anger

“It wasn’t even an offer, it was an ultimatum. I feel like I’m a decent football player still. It was insulting, somewhat a slap in the face.”  “We want to make Brian a Bear, retire a Bear. Blah, blah blah. It was all lip service in my mind.”

Stage 3: Bargaining

“I understand I’m older now. I didn’t have the best season last year, that’s for dang sure. I feel great right now. I didn’t have an offseason last year. I didn’t get to work out. So I want to prove I can still play a little bit.”  “But I played every game for almost three straight years. I missed the last four last year, but I played every game for three years until the last four last year. So it’s not like I’ve been banged up and missed a ton of games. Just some weird injuries last few years.”

Stage 4: Depression

“This whole offseason, I had a bad feeling about this situation anyway.  I wanted to be here, I wanted to be in Chicago. I wanted to finish here. Now, it’s not possible.” “I had a feeling during the whole offseason that something like this would happen. I told my agent – I said I just don’t think they want me back. …just never really had a solid feeling that I would go back there.”

Stage 5: Acceptance

“There are no hard feelings between me and the Bears organization. I’m going to miss the hell out of my teammates. I had a great run here.”  “So they’re going to find a new middle linebacker, and I’m going to try to find a new place to work.”

Leave a Reply

